Nominations Committee Monday, October 10, 2017 3:00 p.m. Second Floor Board Room 4100 Harry Hines Blvd., Suite 100 Dallas, TX

ROLL CALL

Committee Members

Present at 3:00 p.m. Lamontry Lott, Sr., Jim McDade, Michael Mata, Robert Benitez,

Rick Salinas, Billy Ingram, P. Boux Bland, Danny Millaway

Present at 3:03 p.m. Joseph Martinez

Present at 3:05 p.m. Geraldine White

Absent: Michael Walton

Presiding Officer Kelly Gottschalk

Others Josh Mond, Linda Rickley, Christian Hinojosa, James Hunter,

David E. Gibson, Pete Bailey

* * * * * * * *

The meeting was called to order at 3:00 p.m.

* * * * * * * *

DISCUSSION AND POSSIBLE ACTION REGARDING ITEMS FOR INDIVIDUAL CONSIDERATION

1. Approval of Minutes

- a. Meeting of September 12, 2017
- **b.** Meeting of September 18, 2017
- c. Meeting of September 29, 2017

Mr. Millaway made a motion to approve the minutes. Mr. Ingram seconded the motion, which was unanimously approved by the Committee.

Messrs. Martinez and White were not present for the vote.

* * * * * * * *

2. Certification of election results for the Non-member Trustee positions

Ms. Gottschalk stated that at the September 1, 2017 Committee meeting, the Committee called an election to fill three Non-member positions. Voting for the 2017 Non-member Trustee Election began on Monday, October 2, 2017 at 8:00 a.m. and ended at 12:00 p.m. on Monday, October 9, 2017. The Nominations Committee Policy and Procedure and Election Rules require that the Board certify the results of the election.

The results of the 2017 Non-member Trustee Election, as reported by Election America, Inc. and the Pension System Executive Director, are shown in Minute Book Number 45, page 120.

Mr. Ingram made a motion to certify the qualifications and election of Blaine Dickens, Gilbert Andrew Garcia and Tina Hernandez Patterson as Non-member Trustees. Mr. Millaway seconded the motion, which was approved by the Committee by the following vote:

For: Lott, McDade, Martinez, Mata, Benitez, Salinas, Ingram, Millaway

Against: Bland

Mr. White was not present for the vote.

* * * * * * * *

3. Certification of election results for Police Officer Trustee position

Ms. Gottschalk stated that at the September 1, 2017 Committee meeting, the Committee called an election to fill the Police Officer Trustee position. Voting for the 2017 Police Officer Trustee position began on Monday, October 2, 2017 at 8:00 a.m. and ended at 12:00 p.m. on Monday, October 9, 2017. The Nominations Committee Policy and Procedure and Election Rules require that the Board certify the results of the election.

Joseph P. Schutz received a majority of the votes cast for Police Officer and is elected as Police Officer Trustee for the term of office from September 1, 2017 through August 31, 2021.

The results of the 2017 Police Officer Trustee Election, as reported by Election America, Inc. and the Pension System Executive Director, are shown in Minute Book Number 45, page 120.

* * * * * * * *

3. Certification of election results for Police Officer Trustee position (continued)

Mr. Mata made a motion to certify the qualification and election of Joseph P. Schutz as Police Officer Trustee. Mr. Benitez seconded the motion, which was approved by the Committee by the following vote:

For: Lott, McDade, Martinez, Mata, Benitez, Salinas, Ingram, Millaway

Against: Bland

Abstain: Ingram

Mr. White was not present for the vote.

* * * * * * * *

Rest of this Page was Intentionally Left Blank



Election-America, Inc.

1775 Eye Street NW, Suite 1150 Washington, DC 20006

Phone: (202) 360-4420 Toll Free: (866) 514-2995 services@election-america.com

Results

Race	Candidate	Choice	Votes	%
Non-member Trustee 1	Blaine Dickens	Yes, I approve	1,271	57%
		No, I do not approve	958	43%
Non-member Trustee 2	Gilbert Andrew Garcia, CFA	Yes, I approve	1,443	65%
		No, I do not approve	784	35%
Non-member Trustee 3	Tina Hernandez Patterson	Yes, I approve	1,210	54%
		No, I do not approve	1,023	46%

Race	Candidate	Votes	% of Votes
Police Officer Trustee	Joe Schutz	275	56%
	Kenneth S. Haben	70	14%
	Stephen C. Paz	65	13%
	Thomas White	42	9%
	Scott Walton	36	7%
Total	488		

Turnout by Group

	Group	Voters	% Total Voters
	Fire	361	16%
	Police	496	22%
	Retiree	1,414	62%
Total		2,271	

www.Election-America.com

4. Call for election of Non-member Trustee positions

No run-off election was needed, since all three Non-member candidates were elected

No motion was made.

* * * * * * * *

5. Call for run-off election of Police Officer Trustee position

No run-off election was needed, since one Police Officer candidate received a majority of the votes cast in the election.

No motion was made.

* * * * * * * *

6. Nominations Committee Policy and Procedure and Election Rules

Mr. McDade made a motion to approve the changes in the Nomination Committee Policy and Procedure and Election Rules. Mr. Mata seconded the motion, which was unanimously approved by the Committee.

* * * * * * * *

7. Public comments regarding candidates

No motion was made.

* * * * * * * *

Ms. Gottschalk stated that there was no further business to come before the Committee. On a motion by Mr. McDade and a second by Mr. Martinez, the meeting was adjourned at 3:33 p.m.

/s/ Kelly Gottschalk

Kelly Gottschalk

Presiding Officer

This Page was Intentionally Left Blank